Hi Gavin,

We’ve been back in Nice, France, for a week now, full of the wonderful memories of our stay in SA. We really had a great time at Tydon Safari Camp: warm welcome, good food, relaxing time in between the safaris, and lots of animals (I have some very good pictures).

Debbie was great in driving very close to the animals in Sabi Sand.

Once again thanks to all of you. Hope we can come back again.

 

Best Regards,

 

review Brusa1 - Trip Reviews

Henri and Annie Brusa

February 2013

Dear Gavin,

I’ve been meaning to write from the very day we arrived home, to sincerely thank you and everyone at Tydon Safaris for our wonderful 6-day safari at the end of October.

It has taken us the entire Christmas break to sort out our total of over 3,500 photographs, and our friends and family were astounded when we showed them all we did, and the amazing wildlife we saw.

It was an unforgettable experience, and you have a truly remarkable and talented team. Our guides – especially Debbie and Steve – were simply wonderful, not only in their amazing ability to find so many animals and instantly identify just about anything we saw… but in giving us so much of their time, between safaris – sharing tales around the braai and helping us identify our animals and birds, while resting in the lapa.

I’m about to write our little piece for Trip Advisor; all four of us agree wholeheartedly that we would highly recommend you to anyone looking for a really remarkable safari … and we have already done so!

With many thanks and very best wishes for the future,

review Frances2 3 - Trip Reviews
review Frances2 - Trip Reviews

Frances and Peter Baines
Bryony Baines and Tim Baker

January 2013

View this Tydon review on Trip Advisor – “Brilliant! We’d HIGHLY recommend this!”

We are a couple in our 60’s and had a long series of flights to get to Tydon from our home in NZ. From the time Debbie met us at the airport we were so well looked after, the camp was very comfortable, we enjoyed the ambiance and comfort of the permanent tent and the meals great.

The combination of Sabi Sands and Kruger was brilliant – the off road nature of the drives in Sabi and the ability to get so close to the animals and the variety of Kruger.

Debbie and Jackie gave us such a wonderful appreciation of the animals. We saw the big five but it was so much more than that. To watch them at work tracking the animals, the wealth of information they shared with us, the unending enthusiasm and dedication – that is what made it such a special safari for us.

Gavin was excellent to work with – emails were answered promptly and all information clear and helpful. We had a great drive back to Johannesburg via the Panorama route and enjoyed Gavin company and stories immensely.
Thank you to all of you at Tydon for making our first safari such a special time. It was well worth the long journey to get there.

Janet and Colin from New Zealand

June 2012

We have really enjoyed staying at your lodge, it was wonderful experiences for us both especially for our Ruby anniversary. Gavin and Joy made us feel  so relaxed and happy throughout our stay from pick up point at our friends in J’burg to drop off.

Thank you so much for all you have done for us.

review Howard4 - Trip Reviews
review Howard5 - Trip Reviews

Howard & Linda

I thought that I had come for the animals; I left with a rich life-experience of love for the land and people.  Gavin made my five days with Tydon Safaris absolutely unforgettable.  His professed love for the bush is evident in the set-up of the camp where the tents are nestled in protected trees.  His evening stories and great traditional meals were the best part of the experience.  He made me, a single female senior, feel safe and special.  Kudos also to Joy and Liam for their enthusiastic animal searching and knowledge sharing. Thank you all!

Season’s Greetings to you all,

Eileen
Canada

October 2011

Hi there Gavin, Liam and team,

Just to say how much we enjoyed our stay at the Tydon Safari Camp.  We were immediately made to feel at home and had a great time during our four day safari.  The rest of our holiday went without a hitch but undoubtedly our safari was the highlight of the tour.  Many thanks for a wonderful time.  Regards to everyone.  Am practicing my island dancing for the next time we come!!

Domingo and Donna
Mallorca, Spain

November 2011

In October 2011 I visited my cousin (John’s son) in Cape Town together with my wife, my sister and my brother in law. We first landed in Johannesburg and went for four days’ safari tour based  at Tydon Safari Camp. We were now able to share some of the experience that our grandfather Percy, his son and his grandson had in 1949; the spectacular scenery, and the wildlife. Thanks to our expert guides we saw four of the big five (no leopard) and a lot of other exciting and beautiful animals, birds and flowers.

Thank you Gavin and Tydon for excellent accommodation, fantastic food and wines and a great nature adventure.

review knut and family6 - Trip Reviews

Knut Lindelöf with family
Uppsala, Sweden

October 2011

Thank you so much for what is/was most amazing experience of my life and I`ve had a few experiences in my life.

God bless Tydon Safari Camp because I am coming back.

review paul walker8 - Trip Reviews
review paul walker7 - Trip Reviews

Paul Walker

September 2011

Most amazing Safari ever! Gavin, Lyam and Joy were wonderful and knowledgeable. Thank you

– Jessica Byrne

 

Came all the way from Hawaii, halfway around the world, and the safari as well as the experience at the camp was one of the amazing and beautiful experiences of my life. Thank you all so very very much.

– Vince Krause

 

Gavin – Amazing experience. 4 out of 5 of the big five was awesome. I’ve dreamed of going on safari my whole life. Thank you for making it happen.

– Brandon Birtell

review jvb9 - Trip Reviews

September 2011

Phenomenal, first class vacation. We could not have enjoyed it more. Gavin and his team are exceptional.

review peter10 - Trip Reviews

Peter Safran

September 2011

Hi GUYS,

I just wanted to say thank you guys for such an incredible experience!! I was a little nervous travelling by myself but sooo glad that I did.
Your staff was absolutely a pleasure to be around and I can not wait to come back soon. I have shared your information with all of my freinds..

I am also glad that my dear friend Paul Walker made it out as well. I juts got off of the phone with him and he had just as many good things to say about the experience as I do.

Please tell Lyam and Joy to stay in touch and to please let me know if they come to Las Vegas. They can find me on facebook as well, if they are members 🙂

review Atwell11 - Trip Reviews

Aubrianna Atwell

August 2011

Dear Kevin and Joy

Thank you so much for a wonderful time at Kruger. Joy drove for us all these hours always with a smile She is very professional and we really enjoyed her explanations about animals. Although we couldn´t see the leopard we saw the rest of the big five almost everyday.

We would especially like to thank  Kevin who made all the arrangements for us, not only at Kruger, but also in our trip to Maputo, dealing with some  difficulties at the  border. Thank you very much.

We have been very lucky to find Tydon Safari to spend our holidays in SA. It is a very well organized Safari with a very high quality service.

Inés and Jose from Spain

August 2011

Gavin

Thank you for a fantastic safari experience for me and the kids.  It was without doubt the highlight of our trip. We came for the animals, but our stay with you included so much more than that – good food, great conversation, and a really nice, intimate atmosphere.  Your personal service and attention to every detail made it a truly memorial visit.

I hope to send you some clients, and maybe even return myself to try that fishing trip you mentioned.

Stay in touch,

Linda Ford

August 2011

Dear Gavin and Vangie

We are back home having spent a truly amazing week with you all – for me it really was a very special experience and it was better than I imagined it would be.
The animals we saw were obviously an important part, but your welcome, the camp, the food, the transport and your two exceptional guides Lyam and Joy were also key in making it so special. We will be giving you the highest recommendation to anyone we know or meet who would like to have a similar holiday.

We hope your first summer season is successful and really hope to see you one day in Europe if we don’t come back to see you before then!

Thank you all so much

Karen and Colin

August 2011

Dear Gavin, Joy and Lyam

We just wanted to say a big thank you for helping to make our safari so memorable.  We had such a fantastic time from start to finish.  The camp is wonderful; a great combination of out door living with just the right amount of home comforts not to spoil the effect of being in the wild but making things cosy where it matters.  The location is idyllic, being well away from the crowds so you get to feel the unique atmosphere of Africa especially at night under a starlit sky with wild animals calling in the background.  Eating outdoors around the campfire is great with fabulous food and everyone joining in stories.   We particularly liked you joining us for meals as it just added to the tremendous friendly ambiance of the camp, a real feeling of having stayed with friends.  Gavin you have a real winning combination and one that we can’t recommend highly enough.

The game drives were everything we had imagined and more.  The anticipation of not really knowing what you might see, and the excitement of seeing the animals up close is something that will stay with us forever.  Joy and Lyam were great, putting up with us getting excited over things they see everyday but are new to us.  It takes a special quality to make guests feel at ease and involved in the game viewing and they both have this in abundance.  It might have been luck that we saw the big five in one night drive, but it was also due to Lyam’s determination to make sure we had the best time possible.  Sitting in the dark in the middle of a herd of elephants is yet another memory to treasure.  Joy also did well on our last day keeping cheerful when it was rather cold and wet, but highlights like waiting for a herd of several hundred buffalo to cross the road and seeing giraffe fighting made it unforgettable.

We may have gone on safari wanting to see the big five, but we have come away with wonderful memories of seeing all sorts of animals from the small chameleon to the large elephants, colourful birds of all sizes, and from the rare Sable and Jackal to the common Impala and Kudu.  All have contributed to make this the most fantastic experience.
Oh and did I mention we saw a pair of leopards!

If you are reading this because you are wondering if you should book with Tydon, go straight to the book now page, you won’t be disappointed!

Thanks guys it was great, and we will be coming again!

review andrew12 - Trip Reviews

Andrew, Valerie and Amy

Returned from my trip to South Africa yesterday of which i had an amazing time…but my trip with Tydon safari’s wil always hold the most special memories of the trip,I would of course like to thank you for your help time and professionalism in making our Safari soo special.

I would especially like to thank Joy And Lyam who who were really fantastic at making us most welcome and treating us like old friends,always working very hard to make our trip special,and of course making it possible to see the big five.

Everything from the game drives To Sabi and Kruger the food and drinks the accommodation and of course the great company was five star standard,I will be recommending most highly Tydon safari’s when i post my review to trip advisor,and any friends of mine who may travel to South Africa with a safari in mind i will put them in touch with you.

Hopefully one day our paths will meet again on one of your fantastic tours,but till then i wish you all well and the very best of luck for the future.

John Mccarthy

Coming back from SA , I said to my wife: ‘’This was probably one of the best holidays I ever had’’.

Thanks to Gavin for setting up a great camp. Thanks to Karen for the great cooking, help and service. Thanks to Joy and Lyam who are  very good guides, hospitable and knowledgeable.

When I was younger I liked a song very much and it was called Simply the best.
Now I know to who this song was dedicated!

Thanks guys, it was great

Maile and Rob

Spain

I have returned from SA and I would like to let you know how much I enjoyed my holiday at Kruger with Tydon. Everything was just as I hoped it would be. Could you please pass on my thanks to Karen who made the holiday very special with her enthusiasm and her obvious enjoyment in her work.

I hope to be able to travel with you when I come to SA again, perhaps to Gavin’s new bush camp next time! Karen took us  to see it and I wish Gavin success with the venture.

Aileen Broderick

Where do I begin …… we were looking for a safari for quite some time before we left to come across to South Africa.  I was just about to book and pay for the safari with another organization, when I came across the website for Tydon Safaris.  Just as well as I did and all I can say that we were absolutely delighted that we went with your company for various reasons.  Your site on the internet was clear and precise, knowing exactly what we were getting, but you far exceeded our expectations.

From the moment Karen picked us up we could see that we definitely make the right choice.  We could see that your pick up vehicle was well maintained and clean.  Karen was very warm and welcoming and needless to say absolutely passionate about the bush and the Kruger.  She was determined that we would see the Big 5 which we did and also landed  up seeing wild dog which was an added bonus.  Karen’s knowledge was superb and wow what an asset your company has with Karen being one of your guides.  Nothing was too much trouble for her, her energy was boundless.

We thought that the drives would only be for a few hours in the morning and then again in the late afternoon, but this certainly was not the case.  Most mornings we were on the road at 5.30 and only returned to the camp at about 12.30 and then out again from 3.00 to 6.30.  Other safari companies offered 2 x 3 hour drives each in the am and pm, once again our expectations were exceeded.

I would be more than delighted to recommend your company to others seeking a well run organization which offers value for money.

Karen, you are most certainly a shining star and hope all goes well for you.  In actual fact my son told me that when he went with Livingstone safaris a few years back, you were the guide.

Please let me know if you want me to put up a blurb on Trip Advisor, am more than happy to do so and are happy for you to give our details as a recommendation.

Regards to Gavin and hope all is going well with the building of the camp site.

Gill and Martin Gersun

Australia

We had a wonderful time!  Saw the Big Five thanks to Karen.  We also got to meet Gavin and see his new camp site.

We told Gavin that you are the reason we choose his company  because you promptly answer our inquiries.  You do a great job in representing his company because you are the public’s first contact.

Karen was  absolutely wonderful as a guide.  It was fun to be with her and watch how she drove and tracked animal tracks and pointed out who’s prints they were.

She also pointed out the different trees and the native’s beliefs.

Bob does not like instant coffee and Karen went out of her way to get him a filter coffee machine and to get him ground coffee. He is a big coffee drinker and really appreciated that effort on her part.  She even gave us a book with animal sayings as a memento it is on our coffee table for everyone to see.

We told Gavin that he should be very pleased with both of you and that you deserve a RAISE.

Would you send us your actual mailing address.

Gavin said that if we return to let you know he said that you would give us a special deal.  We are certainly thinking and going to save for an August 2012 return as Karen told us August is really the best month.  Besides we did not get all the pictures that we wanted.

My favorites were the Giraffe and Elephant.

To sum it up it was a great and memorable experience.

Bob and Margaret Charney

USA

It’s just to let you know, that we are back in Berlin and everything went fine. Please find attached a very quick selection of the Big Five and one ‘bonus’ … Many thanks again for this wonderful experience with Tydon Safaris and please send our regards to Gavin, Karin, Pauline and Sandy as well. If we have some more time we can send you more pictures if you need it as advise from very satisfied customers.

We would be glad to hear some updates from your side soon.

Wolfgang and Michael

Berlin